August Highlights and Surgery Recovery

It’s been over a month since my last blog post and August is almost over! Summer is going by quickly! First off, I had surgery August 18 at Ocean Springs Hospital for a partial hysterectomy. I have been having constant pain for over a year and irregular cycles. When I say “irregular” I mean I had one every 2-3 weeks. Pure misery, but this surgery was also pure misery because it was like having a 4th C-section. Ouch. He had to do an abdominal surgery instead of laparoscopic. I am currently 12 days post-op and doing well after a major allergic reaction to the surgical glue they used on my incision. It’s been a long 12 days, but my incision is starting to clear up and I’m feeling better every day. Day after surgery and we were about to head home. 

Now, let’s talk about all the running I did before heading into surgery! I decided to do a 21 day running streak once I found out I would have this surgery with possible 6 week recovery. I ran every day starting July 28-August 17. I logged 64.65 miles in 21 days and just over 50 for the month of August! Woo hoo! Running every day was hard and some days I walked and ran. I remembered why I wasn’t a streaker lol! Here are some pictures of my runs during that time. It was a journey even though it was only 3 weeks. I ran the Glow Run 5k here in my hometown. It was 8 o’clock at night and I finished in 27:41! This is Alisha, my neighbor who finished first overall female. I was 5th overall and 4th in 30-39 AG. I was very pleased with my time at this race since temps were still in the 80’s even at night!

I ran at sunset the next day and you can see there was a storm on the right and the sunset on the left. How cool is that? God’s beauty never ceases to amaze me.This was my 3 mile afternoon run August 8 after we took my 6 year old son to meet his teacher. He told his new teacher “I can’t do work!” Omg.. hence my face. 🙄 So far, Cayne has not had the best start to first grade, but he’s trying his best… maybe..He’s cute though, right?? I celebrated my 38th birthday on August 12 beginning with a 5 mile sunrise run! Woo hoo! And then dressed up for my birthday dinner. Sometimes I try to look nice 😆.August 14 was probably my last decent run before surgery. Hubby got me this running outfit for my bday! Didn’t he do a good job?? My last run was August 17, the day before surgery. I was blessed with this beautiful sunset. 

Surgery was the 18th and I came home the very next day. I’ve been recovering ever since! The first half of the month was awesome and the second, not so much. I will be so glad when I’m fully healed and recovered. I did buy two new hats from @pinkcupcakegirl. Let’s just be mermaids… okay?? 

How was your month of August? What are you currently training for? I am not training for anything, but fingers crossed I will get to run the St. Jude Half Marathon in December. September is Childhood Cancer Awarness Month. If you would like to donate to St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital please click on this link: http://fundraising.stjude.org/site/TR/Heroes/Heroes?px=2645408&pg=personal&fr_id=67039

12 thoughts on “August Highlights and Surgery Recovery

  1. Glad to hear you are recovering now — it sounds like you had a bit of a rough start. I’ve never been into run streaks because I can’t convince myself to get that sweaty for “just” one mile. I hope your son doesn’t give you too much grief – he sure is cute though.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been wondering where you were!!! I’m glad your surgery went well and you’re recovering. Sounds miserable but at least it’s out of the way, yes?

    And I’m totally with you on being a mermaid. How do we make that happen? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I so hope that this surgery helps you. My mom had a full hysterectomy through her c-section scars, and it was painful, but she healed pretty quickly after (obviously, it wasn’t a cakewalk, but you know what I mean!). Heal quickly, but take the time that you need!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Happy birthday! I am glad you are recovering well, after the small allergy setback.

    Your little guy is adorable. I wouldn’t make him do work, either LOL!

    I have a bunch of races coming up, so I’m working on building my miles. I’m a little whiny about it, but it needs to get done, and eventually the humidity will chill out. maybe.

    Keep it up and feel better!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

