July Ultimate Coffee Date

It’s been over a week since I’ve written a blog post, mostly because I haven’t been very consistent with my running or workouts thanks to summer heat plus thunderstorms. 

If we were having coffee on my pier swing, I would tell you running has been a struggle over the last month. I’m finding it hard to stay motivated with summer heat and I’m tired of getting up early with the temps so hot and humid even in early morning hours. I want to enjoy my summer and I’m not enjoying running right now. It has turned into “work” and pretty miserable. I am looking forward to heading to the beach later this morning. I am ready for a change of scenery! We will be there for 6 days!! Gnats in my eye after last night’s steamy short run. 😡

If we were having coffee, I would runfess that I have decided not to run a marathon this fall. I have been back and forth about this, but since I am so tired all the time in the season of life, I don’t think I am ready to tackle another marathon. Plus I see more and more people getting injured. It’s hard to let go of your dreams, but with three kids, I just have to wait until they are older to accomplish a few things. I want to travel and see new places, but I can’t. My husband is not a runner nor does he like to travel. I get so discouraged sometimes, but I have to toughen up and let it go. One day, I believe I will be able to do more. As long as I can keep running, and running pain free, I’m happy. I am often reminded of that song by Lauren Dagle “Trust in You.” The lyrics are: “Letting go of every single dream, I lay each one down out Your feet.” As mothers and wives we have to give up certain things. It makes me very sad, but I want to be the best mother I can be and I can’t be that if I’m tired from training all the time. 

Check out this beautiful sunset after the storms a couple nights ago! 

What would you tell me if we were having coffee? I am linking up with Deborah and CoCo for July’s  Ultimate Coffee Date Beach edition!

9 thoughts on “July Ultimate Coffee Date

  1. Katie, I have been feeling the same way lately about running. I love it, but I’m 43, have 3 kids, and I run an in home daycare Monday through Friday , and my hours are from 5:30am until 5:30 pm. Because I am so tired in the evenings after the kids leave (not to mention as a wife and mom second shift starts with dinner, housework, etc), the only time I have to run is early in the morning so I have been getting up at 3:30 am to get in a run before the day starts. I am TIRED! I’m to the point to where I’m thinking maybe I should just quit and be fat and happy lol. Not really, but you know what I mean. I understand where you’re coming from! Your posts are always a blessing to me and I just wanted you to know you’re not alone! Prayers to you!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am also having a hard time with the summer heat this year. It’s so draining and it makes me not like running so much. You have nothing to feel bad about not wanting to run a marathon this year. Your kids are so young and they need you more at that age. You have the rest of your life to tackle another marathon if you decide you want to. Thanks for linking up with us for coffee!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If you’re not enoying running right now, take some time off. 🙂 Your body and mind will be refreshed and you’ll love it again after some time away. I think when it becomes work instead of pleasure, it’s our mind’s way of yelling at us to slow down and listen to our body. 🙂

    Enjoy your beach time! That sounds wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Summer running is HARD!! I’m taking a couple of runs a week to the treadmill because of the heat. I don’t know what I was thinking wanting to run a fall marathon, it is tough to stay motivated in the heat and humidity!!

    Enjoy your time at the beach!! Get some rest!!

    Jodi

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

