May Runfessions

Wow, it’s already that time! The last Friday of May is here and it’s time for Runfessions! 

I runfess I really wanted to make it to 100 miles this month. Once again, it’s not going to happen lol. The month of May has been extremely slammed with a dance tryout, a half marathon (for me hehe), two graduations, one for my kindergartner and one for my 4th grader, one soccer tournament which caused my oldest daughter a knee injury (and caused a Mother’s Day Meltdown), one field trip, our wedding anniversary, one dance recital, and a Tball tournament which Cayne and his team finished up Tuesday. Whew! Plus church, work, chores and all the other responsibilities I have as a wife, mom, and employee. Holy cow! So no, I won’t make it 100 miles. I’m at a little over 60 at the moment and have a few more days left to get in some miles!My run from this morning! 

I also runfess, I still have not registered for a full marathon for fall. I keep thinking about the commitment and I runfess I am a little scared. Fear is holding me back for sure. I have also noticed a few seasoned runners I follow are injured from marathon training which also freaks me out a little. I’ve been injury free for over two years. Why? Because I have run LESS distance races and zero marathons in two years. I have registered for the St. Jude Half Marathon as a Silver hero and my fundraising is off to a great start. Here is the link if you would like to donate: Katie’s Fundraising Page

I also runfess that even though the craziness of the school year and even this month is coming to a close, my anxiety is still pretty high. What for? I don’t know. The only time I DON’T feel anxious is when I’m running. Running is the only time my head is clear, but sadly I can’t run all day long. It’s been almost a year since I had what you might call “a nervous breakdown.” Maybe I’ve been thinking about it too much lately. I have come a long way over the last year thanks to praying and writing in my journal daily, but I’m not quite where I want to be. I might write a blog post about what happened, but it was pretty scary. I’m so thankful to be where I am today. I really don’t like looking back do you? I like to keep moving forward! 

What about you? Anything to runfess? How do you overcome your fears and become fearless? What is your favorite race distance? I am linking up with Marcia for May’s Runfessions! 

12 thoughts on “May Runfessions

  1. Whew! You’ve had a lot on your plate. It’s the nature of the end of the school year I think. I understand your fears about the marathon but I know you can be well trained on 3 runs/week. Before you say no to it, ask yourself how you’ll feel when the marathon comes and you don’t run it. Thanks for runfessing!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t think we can every become completely fearless…there are too many unknowns (as well as too many memories of previous hurts). The best we can do is face the fears and acknowledge their existence. It’s not a sign of weakness having fears, I think it’s a sign of strength to “feel the fear and do it anyways.” Keep hanging tough 😉

    Liked by 1 person

  3. One of my all time favorite quotes is “Don’t look back. You’re not going that way.” But sometimes it’s good to reflect because we can learn from things that were hard or uncomfortable. Having said that, I can totally understand to not wanting to relive something awful.

    Don’t be nervous about a fall marathon. You can do it!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I am sure there will be people who tel you to sign up for the marathon but like you, running less distance has helped me ward off the injuries I often get from running. I’ve come to realize that my body really does not like it as much as I do. I think I am ok with it for now. The beauty of running is that it will always be there when you are ready. That’s my 2 cents

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Major props to you fo rbeing able to juggle so many things while still getting over 60 miles in–that’s awesome and already an amazing accomplishment! Best of luck to you on the half!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m glad your running is your happy place that clears your head. But I think you are smart to have those other parts of your life, like journaling, where you are taking time for yourself to cultivate your resilience and strength. You seem to be playing a very smart game, as evidenced by the fact that you haven’t been injured in two years.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

