Three Running Wishes 

The topic for today’s “Tuesdays on the Run” is if running were a genie  and could grant me 3 running wishes, what would they be? 

1. Dear running genie, I would really like a running buddy to go to races with. Not exactly someone I need to run with during each and every run. I like running by myself for the most part. I would just like to have someone who could go with me instead of dragging my sweet hubby (who is a non-runner) to races. I’ve had running friends before, but have been dropped and left out over the last couple of years. It’s almost like “running high school” down here sometimes. Women can be very competitive, spiteful, and down right mean. And what for? When I went to Disney Princess Half Marathon weekend a year ago, I went with 2 women I met on IG and most of the other ladies were from Alabama. They were so warm and welcoming so I KNOW not everyone is like some of the women here where I am from. 

2.  Dear running genie, I would really like to run another marathon. It’s been 2 years and I can’t seem to find the time. Can you give me the motivation I need to tackle 26.2 again? Also I need you to clear my schedule to get in those long training runs and please keep my children from getting sick during training if at all possible?  Please and thank you!

3.  Dear running genie, I would like to run one destination race. A half marathon will work due to my timing issues as mentioned in wish number 2. I’ve only flown on a plane once in my life and need to get past that fear so I can see other parts of the world and meet new people.  I love seeing new places on foot especially during a race. I’m thinking Hawaii??  I do so love the beach!

What are your three running wishes? I am linking up with Marcia and Erika for Tuesday’s on the run! Hope y’all are having a great week! 

12 thoughts on “Three Running Wishes 

  1. I feel you on the women issues. A lot of women are still in “high school” mode. I find that my runner friends are not like that. I don’t know if it’s because we have such a big thing in common that we let all the nonsense go? But I’ve stopped going to the neighborhood lady gatherings because of the cattiness.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Disappointing to hear about the women issues! We need to lift each other up and not tear eachother down. Runners typically ‘get’ that, so it’s disappointing to hear your experience.

    My 13 year old has the same issues as well. My lesson to her is “always take the high road” It’s sometimes a lonely road, but in the end, you will be better for it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. i’m sorry you are having such a struggle finding running friends with whom to travel. That makes me sad. 😦

    I’ll be honest – I hate flying. I’m a nervous anxious wreck about it. However, I absolutely love traveling and so I just psych myself up so I can get on that plane. It’s hard, every single time, but I don’t regret it. Not at all. Hang in there. Hawaii is a hike but it will be so worth it.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You’re spot-on with the time commitment to training for a marathon! As much as I’m looking forward to running Grandma’s in June, my training will be a little hap-hazzard LOL I have a lot going on in the final seven weeks (mostly on the weekends, wouldn’t you know?), so my long training runs are not gonna be perfect…but, I’m not training for a BQ, so I’m gonna just do the best with the time I do have.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gah… women issues suck. My best running friends live 2 and 3 hours away from me. We try to meet up for a couple races a year, but it is hard as we all are from ranching families and have kids in 4-H and sports that keep us busier and busier as the kids get older. But they really are the best when you find that right tribe.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Oh Katie! I wish you could join us in Utah for the half! I’m always looking to expand my tribe! So so sorry you’ve encountered mean running “friends”. Life’s far too short for that. Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

