2016 PR’s and Bling

Wow, another Christmas has come and gone and a new year is rapidly approaching! I wanted to take a moment to highlight some great achievements this year. I managed to PR my 5k, 10k, 15k, and half marathon distances! Whew! All of these happened in a short time from January to March. After that I started having health issues, but let’s talk about the good things and of course the BLING!

First PR was at the YMCA Classic 10k in Ocean Springs January 16! I ran a sub one hour 10k beating my one and only 10k time by 7 minutes!

Next PR was at the Wildcat 5k February 6! I finished in 25:37 and it took over two years to finally beat my 5k time. I won second place in my AG and hubby won first! Our award bling was baseballs since the race benefited the high school baseball team!

PR number 3 was the very next week on February 13 and the Double Bridge 15k in Pensacola! I ran the same race the year before and beat my time by almost 9 minutes! I finished in 1:28:28 this year another awesome 15k medal!

PR number 4 happened at the Bring it to the Bay Half Marathon on March 5! I ran my fastest half marathon that morning at 2:10:39 beating my old PR by 4 minutes! It was warm and I had a headache for 3 days after. I may have gotten a little dehydrated running 9 minute miles consistent for the first time ever during a half. I had a PR and a course record. 

Shortly after this race, I suffered from numerous headaches. I still have no idea what was wrong. I have Mitral Valve Prolapse and all the symptoms that come with it started to flair up (palpitations, chest pain, fatigue, anxiety), my son got really sick and ended up with pneumonia in April. He was sick for about 3 weeks. I even had to go the emergency room in May for chest pains. I had not been to the ER in 13 years. I was so upset, distressed, and just plain sad. I finally got into see my cardiologist and he gave me the right medicine to help me. In the summer I trained for my one of my favorite 5k’s, the Run 4 the Kids St. Jude 5k in Hattiesburg on July 23. My Mom was kind enough to bring me. She didn’t want me to go by myself. I ran the same race the year before much faster, but still finished in 28:30 AND won second place in my age group! 

After a long spring and most of the summer facing one trial after another it seemed, I ran a race for a wonderful cause and brought home a medal. I won the same award a year ago at this race with a much faster time, but this award was much sweeter. I cried tears of joy! 

In August, I signed up to run Disney’s Dopey Challenge. I have tried my best to train this fall, but haven’t been able to because we are one busy family in a busy season of life. We have even moved to our lake house we’ve been building over a year. I ran two half marathons in two weeks. One was Kaiser Realty in Orange Beach November 26, which went terribly (see older blog post) and Mississippi Gulf Coast Half Marathon December 11. I was so thankful to end 2016 with such a great race! 

But my favorite bling and races of 2016 go to the Disney Princess 5k and half marathon I ran back in February! I went with friends I met on Instagram and had the BEST time.

I won’t get to go in 2017, but will definitely in 2018! What was your favorite race for 2016 or favorite bling?? I’m excited to see what 2017 brings! I hope everyone has a happy new year! 

One thought on “2016 PR’s and Bling

  1. Cheers to 2016 and an even better 2017!!

    It’s crazy that I was at some of the same races!!!

    Are you still doing Dopey?? I’ll be there for the Half, one year I’ll knock out Dopey!!

    I hope you have a great week!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

