Running Redeemed

Wow what a great week it has been! I started out running what I call my “redemption race” last Sunday at the Mississippi Gulf Coast Half Marathon. Just two weeks before this race, I had a really bad half in Orange Beach, Kaiser Realty Half Marathon (see older post). I was very hesitant about signing up for Gulf Coast, but I am so glad I did. My husband and two out of my three children kindly drove me down to Gulfport. Just having them there gave me comfort. My finish time at Kaiser was 2:46:40 and my finish time at Gulf Coast was 2:26:28! That’s a twenty minute difference! I was ecstatic. At mile 11 this photo was captured of me worshiping the Lord. I was so thankful and overwhelmed by His goodness. 
I was so thankful my family was there waiting on my at the finish line. 
I am a fitness instructor 3 days a week and Monday I taught yoga! I usually teach cardio and strength, but I was so tired from the race, I sent my ladies a group text and asked if it would be alright to do yoga for one day. They said sure! I was in heaven. I love yoga and needed to stretch. 
On Tuesday, my class was cancelled due to bad weather and I continued to rest Wednesday and Thursday. 

By Friday, I was ready to put in some miles so my friend Katherine met me in town and ran two miles with me. I ran two more on my own at 10:14 and 10:23 pace! I have slowed down so much due to heart rate training, it was nice to see the number 10 again! 4 miles at 10:41 pace for Friday!

I am thankful to end 2016 on a happy running note. It’s been a long, hard journey for me with all of my heart and health issues this year. I am excited to see what 2017 brings! Next up is WDW Dopey Challenge! What about you? What’s next on your race calendar?? 
I am linking up this post with Holly and  Tricia for their Weekly Wrap! 

10 thoughts on “Running Redeemed

  1. So many people doing the WDW marathon weekend! I’m not running but I’ll be there working with Fit2Run at our booth. I’m kind of worried how I’m going to get my training in during the week. I might have to suck it up and run on the hotel treadmills since I don’t know the area that well and won’t have a lot of free time except late at night and early morning.

    I can totally sympathize about running a bad race and wanting redemption. At a 10k this spring I fell and lost about a minute and a half off my PR bid. I still had a PR but it wasn’t the race I was hoping for. I definitely want a redo!

    Like

  2. How cool you are doing the Dopey Challenge! I’m doing the WDW marathon (only). I hope the weather will not be too warm and muggy (like last year). That is a huge difference in time you shaved off at MS Gulf Coast. I’ve heard nothing but good things about that race. You should be very proud. Thanks for linking with us, Katie!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I am so very glad you had a good race in Biloxi! I enjoyed every minute of being there. I know you’ve been through a lot this past year and it excites me to see you are ready to jump into 2017! Wishing you great luck for the Dopey challenge, it is no easy task.
    Love the new blog and thrilled you joined us for the Weekly Wrap!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

