Disney Princess Weekend: Favorite races of the year

As 2016 comes to a close, I wanted to share my favorite race weekend of the year: Disney Princess Weekend at Walt Disney World in February! 

A little back story: I had 3 amazing roommates and I met all of them  through Instagram! I saw Jenny @jennyfren and Mindy @roadrunnergirl post about signing up for the Glass Slipper Challenge for 2016 and left a comment on how I would love to go. Well, wouldn’t you know Jenny invited me to tag along?! She and Mindy live in Daphne, AL which is only a little over an hour away from me! The three of us met for lunch a few weeks before time to go to Princess and we ended up driving down to Orlando together. I met up with Tracy, my other roommate, at the expo! I still don’t know how the 4 of us made it 4 days in that tiny room with all of our stuff and one bathroom, but we did it! I still cannot thank these ladies enough for allowing me to join them on such a special trip. I got to meet an amazing group of women who all love the Lord. Most of them were from Alabama! 

A few highlights from the weekend: I signed up for the 5k and half marathon. My roommates all ran the Glass Slipper Challenge. Our group all dressed up in mermaid leggings for the 5k! That was so much fun!

We had to wake up super early to get ready to meet the bus and headed over to Epcot. The 5k went by so quickly, but it was so beautiful being able to run and watch the sunrise. This is my favorite picture from that race. 

I got to sleep in for the 10k and we spent the day at Magic Kingdom. I think we had to wake up at 2:30 AM to get ready for the half marathon! Whew that was EARLY. I wore my first lululemon skirt to this race! 

I ran by myself during both races, but I was so amazed at how nice and courteous the other runners were. Anyone would gladly stop and take your picture for you and I would do the same. 

I loved how I was able to take my time running this half and stop for pictures. There seemed to be no time limit and it was very relaxed! My favorite moment running through Magic Kingdom was meeting Cinderella’s Step Mother and Stepsisters. We had a lot to talk about! 

Once I ran out of Magic Kingdom, there wasn’t much to look at and it was hard to get around people. It didn’t really matter since I didn’t have a time goal. I had so much fun just watching other people and seeing what they were wearing!

I was a sweaty mess at this race. It was so hot and humid! These are my favorite pictures from this half:

Crossing that finish line was so special to me. It felt like I was a new half marathoner all over again! If I had to choose a favorite medal of the year, it would definitely be this one. 


I had the best week/weekend meeting new people and making new friends. It takes a lot of courage to join a new group. I think you can make new friends at any age and I used to not believe that. It seemed the older I got, the harder it was to meet new people and make new friends. But thanks to running, I have met so many new people and lifelong friends. I am so thankful for that. Thank you again Jenny, Mindy, and Tracy for allowing me to be your roommate and joining y’all on such an amazing race weekend! 

It will be time to hear back to Disney for WDW Marathon weekend before I know it. Even though I’m not ready for the Dopey Challenge, I will complete as many races as I can. Looking forward to 2017! 

2 thoughts on “Disney Princess Weekend: Favorite races of the year

Leave a Reply

